photo by Lew Hann

photo by Lew Hann

Music Director

John Neely is a renowned musician of the greater Dayton region. He has been music director of the Bach Society of Dayton since its inception in 2002.

For the past 37 years John has served as associate pastor for music at Westminster Presbyterian Church in downtown Dayton. He has taught in the music departments of Washington and Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, and Mt. Union College in Alliance, Ohio. He has been dean of the Canton and Dayton Chapters of the American Guild of Organists and was national president of the Presbyterian Association of Musicians.

John is recognized nationally as an organ recitalist, conductor, and choral clinician, having conducted workshops most recently in Ft. Worth, Texas; Portland, Oregon; and Tallahassee, Florida. He holds degrees from Duquesne University, Union Theological Seminary School of Sacred Music, and Pittsburgh Theological Seminary.

photo by Lew Hann

photo by Lew Hann


R. Alan Kimbrough is well known within the Dayton arts community as an outstanding organist-accompanist.

Alan is a retired professor of english at the University of Dayton and was the accompanist for the former Dayton Bach Society from 1974 to 2002. He is a long-time member of the American Guild of Organists and is currently a co-organist at the First Baptist Church of Dayton.


The Bach Society is governed by chorus members and community leaders who volunteer to secure the future of the organization:

Marc Fleischauer, president
Stephen Makovec, vice president
Bond R. Hattershire, treasurer
R. Alan Kimbrough, secretary
William Spohn, past-president
Nancy Farkas
Tom Gottweis
John Gummel
Stephanie Knox
Kevin Samblanet

John Stengel
David Grupe, operations manager
Laurana Wong, all-around supporter